The Phillips CollectionCenter for the Study of Modern Art Phillips Book Prize


2008 Prize Winner Terri Weissman during her book talk at the Center.
Photo: RED BELL Photo.

The Phillips CollectionCenter for the Study of Modern Art
Phillips Book Prize
Application deadline extended: April 15, 2012 The Phillips Collection
Center for the Study of Modern Art
1600 21st Street NW, Washington, DC 20009

T 202-387-2151

The Center offers an annual prize for an unpublished manuscript presenting new research in modern or contemporary art from 1780 to the present. Preference is given to applicants whose research focuses on subjects related to the Phillips’s areas of collecting. The winning author receives 5,000 USD, and his or her manuscript will be published by the University of California Press as part of a series of first books sponsored by the Center. Scholars who received their PhDs within the past five years are strongly encouraged to apply.

A panel of art historians, curators, and editors review the applications. Award recipient is notified within two months following the application deadline. AWARDS
Past winners of the Phillips Book Prize include Alicia Volk for her study on Yorozu Tetsugoro; Terri Weissman for her investigation on the documentary photography of Berenice Abbott; André Dombrowski for his original research on the early work of Paul Cézanne; Lauren Kroiz for her study of late 19th-century and early 20th-century American modernism and the artists, critics, and theorists of the extended Stieglitz circle; and Robert Slifkin for his manuscript on Philip Guston’s refiguration of postwar art.

To apply, submit a cover letter, a CV, an abstract of the proposed book (one page maximum), and a book proposal (eight to ten pages). The book proposal should include a project overview, chapter outlines, a plan for revisions and completion of the manuscript, and a description of the book’s position in the literature of modern or contemporary art. Three current letters of recommendation are also required (under separate cover).Submit materials electronically to the program coordinator, Meg Clark: